Author Topic: Can you help me?  (Read 2009 times)

Offline amanda.seal

• Marley Moo
Can you help me?
« on: June 07, 2008, 06:38:35 PM »
Hi everyone, I'm new to the site. I'm looking into getting 2 cockers as i've read that 2 are half the work of one, as they play together, sleep together and keep each other company. Not sure how true this is but can understand the idea of it. I am looking at getting rescue cockers as i work part-time and don't think its fair having puppy's. My problem is that i'm on a low income and although i can look after them and vets wouldn't be an issue i would have problems getting the initial payments together as they are over 100 for each dog :'( Is there anywhere that takes this into account. I'm new to cockers but i'm sure we could offer them a loving forever home. I live with my 2 children aged 13 and 15.

Offline Cob-Web

• Inactive
  • To err is human, to forgive, canine
    • Walking on Wight Blog
Re: Can you help me?
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2008, 07:16:56 PM »
We "saved up" the weekly outgoings we knew dog would cost to feed and care for, until we had enough to buy our pup.....perhaps you can do that?

I don't know any reputable rescues that would rehome two dogs together unless they had been companions for many years, so you will have time to save up until the right dogs become available. I would add that rescue dogs can be as much, if not more,work than a puppy as their experiences and history are unknown and you have to learn about them as you go along  ;)

Insurance, food, worming, flea-treatments etc for my two dogs costs about £100 a month; so it won't be long before you save enough to make the required donation to a rescue centre  :D
Enrich your life with an Oldie!
Oldies Club

Offline amanda.seal

• Marley Moo
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2008, 07:39:28 PM »