Author Topic: Grooming for show  (Read 886 times)

Offline spaniels ears

Grooming for show
« on: August 12, 2015, 09:00:36 AM »
Hi all, I am new to the showing world and am struggling with what I should be doing with my boys throat and also the trimming of the featherings on the back legs, really hoping someone could explain to me what I should be doing and possibly post some photo's or point me in the right direction of where i can find this out, I usually clip his throat on a longer blade as he is a blue roan but then get a bit stuck with the blending from clipped to not clipped, should I be hand stripping this part or thinning and how far should I take it?
With the back featherings I get really confused when trimming the part near the top of the foot, how far in shoulf I be taking it here?
Hope this all makes sense and someone can help!!  :D

Offline lescef

Re: Grooming for show
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2015, 04:40:52 PM »
Hi. I don't show my dogs so can't advise but (hope it's ok to post this) look at ****** site and in the advice menu you will find a lot of info about grooming. I'm sure others will offer help too.

Mod note: please send the link privately by PM if you could as this is a breeders' website, thanks
Lesley, Maddie and Bramble

Offline vixen

• Stevie and Marley
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2015, 07:52:13 PM »
Have you looked on the Grooming board?  There is lots of advice on there  :D
http://www.cockersonline.co.uk/discuss/index.php?board=9.0
Max (GSP)  always in my heart

Offline Jane S

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2015, 08:39:13 AM »