Author Topic: boys v's girls - who can make the better pupil!!  (Read 7069 times)

Offline nickycnc

• Site Member
boys v's girls - who can make the better pupil!!
« on: January 13, 2010, 05:49:51 PM »
I'm on the look out for my new working cocker....I had pretty much decided on a bitch as a local trainer had suggested she would be easier to train. Now that I've done loads more research I'm not sure anymore. I've already got a bitch (only 1/4 worker) who can be a little moody sometimes and not at all biddable (except when she wants a cuddle), so I'm really hoping to get a dog who will be a bit more interested in pleasing me than themselves >:D and as a novice trainer I've got to try and get a good start.

I'm sure the answer will down to everyone's own preference but keen to hear other people's opinions and experiences as I have only had females before....Thanks

Also what do they mean when they advertise a dog as being 'honest'?
Mum to 2 girls, Darcy & Charley

Offline Helen

• helen noakes jewellery
Re: boys v's girls - who can make the better pupil!!
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2010, 05:57:00 PM »
depends on the individual dog - from my own view I do have a biddable working cocker and he's a boy...he's soft though and would never withstand heavy handed treatment but will work with me all day long and really wants to please  :luv:

I do think generally that bitches can be a bit bolder and braver which can work for and against you  :lol2:

in what context are they using 'honest' - it can simply be 'what you see is exactly what you get'  or that the dog in question has no guile and is extremely biddable.
helen & jarvis x

Offline Nicola

• FTCh Caoimhe
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2010, 06:37:54 PM »