Author Topic: Why Did You Get A Cocker Spaniel?  (Read 5760 times)

Offline Acciesboy

• Donator
Why Did You Get A Cocker Spaniel?
« on: April 16, 2019, 02:59:49 PM »
I sometimes wonder why people decide to bring a Cocker into their lives? Did you know what you were letting yourself in for?? Did it matter that they were a Cocker?? Were you chosen rather than the other way round???

I have my own little story so I wondered if anyone else had motive in their madness...

When I was a kid my Mum loved Pekingese dogs. We had several. We had pups from one of our bitches. Funny little dogs with lots of personality, but not quite my thing. We had seven in total over the years. I was always around dogs.

25 years ago I was a student about to graduate from University. After my Finals, a group of us went out one afternoon to a park in Glasgow. It was a rare, sunny afternoon in Scotland. We were kicking a football around, and sitting chatting (whilst partaking of a small sherry now and again to celebrate our achievement of finishing four years at University.) It was great to spend time with friends that I had been close to for four years, but we all knew we were about to go our separate ways. Tinged with sadness. But there was something else I remember vividly. Not far from us there were a couple of kids playing with a ball and a dog...

I don't know why, but I remember them playing. They were kicking the ball. Backwards and forwards...and this four legged bundle of fun was bouncing back and forward between them. They would throw themselves on it and it would somehow wriggle free with its tail relentlessly wagging back and forward. And I'll never forget what one of the kids said as it bounced back to lick him to death..."oh Alfie!"

It was at that point 25 ish years ago that I knew...I wanted an Alfie. I was also pretty sure I didn't want kids, but I definitely wanted an Alfie! Alfie was a solid black Cocker Spaniel.