Author Topic: Osteoarthritis  (Read 6219 times)

Offline Nicola

• FTCh Caoimhe
Osteoarthritis
« on: January 05, 2015, 05:45:34 PM »
I thought I would start a thread on OA as it is something that affects a lot of older dogs; it's certainly one that I've had a lot of experience of dealing with over the last few years with Tilly, so it might be interesting to share stories and maybe pick up some new or different treatment and management ideas.

Osteoarthritis: also known as degenerative joint disease (DJD), is defined as the progressive and permanent long-term deterioration of the cartilage surrounding the joints. Arthritis is the medical term for inflammation of the joints, while osteoarthritis is the term referring to a form of chronic joint inflammation caused by deterioration of joint cartilage. Older dogs are at the highest risk.