Author Topic: One dog or two?  (Read 2010 times)

Offline SimonKirk

One dog or two?
« on: July 28, 2009, 04:26:43 PM »
Hi,

We are planning on getting a cocker pup, and have one earmarked from a reputable source. We have three young children and are lucky enough to have a large garden. However our concern is the amount of time the dog might be on its own. This is likely to be from about 9AM until at least 2PM most days.

Do you think this in itself would be detrimental to the dog (especially in its early months). Is there a consensus that a second dog in these circumstances is beneficial to their general well being, or does it not matter?

Many Thanks
Simon

Offline Mittens

• Rock Steady Eddie
Re: One dog or two?
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2009, 04:39:22 PM »
I'm no professional, but from my own experience I would have found two puppies really really hard work (we did consider this too). Eddie is six months nearly now (23 weeks) and has good training/behaviour/toilet habits etc, but it was hard work and weekly classes, and a lot of input at home. We have now adopted an older cocker (18 months) and it is really lovely to see them together, but she is already house trained and has the basic commands under her belt, so I feel we can now cope with two. I don't think Eddie was harmed in any way being an only pup - he slept a lot when we did leave him. Five hours is a long time for a puppy not to be able to go out to toilet etc though - can someone come round and let him out? Others will have lots of better advice I'm sure, but I think that unless you are really dog experienced, you might run the risk of getting two 'little hooligans' - an age gap where the first gets wel trained before the second comes along seems sensible to me. Good luck!  :blink:
Tracey, Eddie and Ruby

Offline Nicola

• FTCh Caoimhe
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2009, 04:41:08 PM »