Author Topic: Cocker or Springer ?  (Read 5437 times)

Offline mel1961red

• Bailey
Cocker or Springer ?
« on: September 07, 2009, 09:39:52 PM »
Hi I wondered if some one could help me I have brought what I believed to be a Cocker Spaniel he is three months old but everyone I see say he is a Springer the vet thinks hes is a working cocker so I am very confused I brought him from a lady that was just pregnant and could not cope with him and a new baby and two other children so she had no papers for him but assured me he was a cocker this is my first Spaniel so I am learning things all the time Ive always had dogs just never a spaniel please help I love him to bits so it wont make a difference what he is but I am interested to know

Offline Maria n Dennis

• Donator
Re: Cocker or Springer ?
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2009, 09:42:57 PM »
Sounds to me like you may have a working cocker  :D but im no expert  :D

Welcome to COL , do you have any pictures of him  :luv:

Offline JennyBee

• Princess Brodie
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2009, 09:45:03 PM »
We really need a photo so we can help :D. what colour is he?

Welcome to COL :blink:

ETA here is a link which explains a bit about working cockers, there are also photos which might help you :D http://www.cockersonline.co.uk/discuss/index.php?topic=40635.0

x In memory of Barney x

Offline Rats and Dogs

• Donator
  • My gorgeous Gari. 25/11/97 - 17/06/09
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2009, 09:46:45 PM »
He probably is a working Cocker, lots of people seem to buy them thinking they are getting the show type, and the "breeders" don't put them right. :-\

You've come to the right place to learn all about your little one, what's his name? :D
Fiona, Dougie & Tia x
Gari - My Angel at The Bridge

Offline Karma

• Site Member
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2009, 09:47:05 PM »
A lot of working cocker owners are frequently asked if they have a Springer, but we would really need photos to give any better advice!!