Author Topic: Adopting a Deaf Cocker  (Read 3443 times)

Offline AndyB

• Donator
Adopting a Deaf Cocker
« on: July 12, 2020, 09:22:28 PM »
I may have the opportunity to adopt an 18 month old Cocker bitch who is deaf.  I have no experience of owning a deaf dog but am a very experienced Cocker owner, having had 4 Cockers over a period of nearly 40 years.  I lost my male Cocker nearly 18 months ago and have now decided to adopt an adult dog rather than have another puppy.  As we are all aware, the situation with rescue dogs and puppies is completely crazy at the moment and I knew this would not be easy.  I know deafness is quite common in certain breeds and owners use signing to train their dog with great success.  Does anyone have experience of owning a deaf Cocker who could offer any advice.

Offline ejp

• Donator
Re: Adopting a Deaf Cocker
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2020, 10:01:14 PM »
Not had a deaf dog who was deaf from birth, just Bertie when he got older.  I found my self using signals for him and it kind of worked, we muddled by.  I am so pleased you are thinking of a dog again, very happy for you.

Offline AndyB

• Donator
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2020, 10:32:56 PM »
Thanks ejp.  I realised today how much I used hand signals with my previous dogs.  Jazz went deaf about two years before he died and I used to call him and slap my hip when he was in the garden and I wanted him to come in.  Also, I think we have all wagged a finger at our dogs when they have done something naughty. 

It's been a long road since I lost Jazz and I have considered getting a puppy but had a bit of a crisis of confidence as I'd always had my husband whenever we got a new dog, David died 5 years ago.   I now feel more than ready to welcome a new Cocker into my life, there is definitely a Cocker shaped hole in my heart and I have reached the conclusion that for me re-homing an adult dog is the way forward.  Not very easy at the moment though. 

Offline bizzylizzy

• Donator
  • 🙂 Jayne