Author Topic: "clomicalm" - For Separation Anxiety  (Read 2760 times)

Offline tiggerbabe

• Site Member
    • BusyPaws Dogwalking & Pet Care
"clomicalm" - For Separation Anxiety
« on: March 29, 2005, 12:41:50 PM »
Hiya!

I was at the vet on Saturday with Sophie for her final booster jag - all over for another year!!  :D

Whilst there I spoke again to the vet about the ongoing problems we are having in calming Sophie down whilst we are not in the house.  

I have tried a lot of the methods that COL users & the vet have previously recommended and been on the web reading up furiously on Separation Anxiety to the point where I feel I am an expert myself!

The vet recommended "Clomicalm" for a period until we can get her settled into a routine without her being so stressed everytime I leave the building!

It is very similar to Prozac for humans and in no way remedies Separation Anxiety, but allows the dog to be calm enough whilst you are working on a behavioural program with them.

Does anyone have any experience of using this as prescribed by their vet?  

Sophie does not seem to be getting any better with just the training alone, and I am considering using these tabs starting at the end of this week as I am off for 2 weeks from Friday and it would give me time to do some training without her getting so worked up!  :(

Thanks again guys!  :)
Aileen & Beau xx

Chasing your tail gets you nowhere ... 'cept back to where you started

Offline stueymac

• Tech Support
  • Administrator
    • CockersOnline
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2005, 01:40:16 PM »
We used this for about a 4 month period for Libby to try and settle her in exactly the same circumstances. The first week or so it made her very 'drained' and lacking in energy, unfortunately it didn't help Libby at all. We stopped using it in the end. However, don't give up hope, it can work wonders for many dogs, it just didn't for ours. Good luck with it though, keeping fingers crossed for you.

Stu.

Offline PennyB