Author Topic: Query about new puppy DNA tests  (Read 3493 times)

Offline annie1

Query about new puppy DNA tests
« on: December 28, 2016, 02:35:03 PM »
Hi

I'm looking for a new wcs puppy, I've found one that I like but I'm a bit confused about the DNA test results and what they mean for my potential pup.

I've been looking on the kennel club website which shows that dad is clear for AMS and FN but there are no results for mum (breeder says accidental mating and bitch will be DNA tested before any future mating).

I think I'm right that dad would pass on a hereditary clear to his offspring? But how would mums unknown status affect the pups DNA?

I hope I'm clear with my question and that I'm making sense, I'm a novice at this, please bare with me!

Thanks

Offline Emilyoliver

Re: Query about new puppy DNA tests
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2016, 09:50:05 AM »
Hi,
If the father is tested clear for AMS and FN, then those conditions cannot be passed on to any of his offspring i.e. they won't develop either condition.  However, if the mother carries either of these, some of the pups could be carriers.  So with one parent tested clear you have a guarantee that the puppies won't suffer from the diseases but could still be carriers so could pass the carrier status on to any progeny (or even affected status if the other parent was also a carrier.  Hope that makes sense?  (My middle dog's sire was tested, but dam not.  I was happy with that as I hadn't intended to breed, and didn't want to discount pups/lines I liked just because both parents weren't tested.  Am happy knowing he won't develop the diseases).  Hereditary clear pups will come from 2 tested parents (so won't need testing prior to breeding to prove their status). 
Michelle, Emily and Ollie

Offline phoenix

• Donator
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2016, 10:02:51 AM »