Author Topic: 'Trust Me, I'm a Vet'....  (Read 6770 times)

Offline piph

• Donator
  • Ozzy and Jess
'Trust Me, I'm a Vet'....
« on: May 12, 2017, 03:06:09 PM »
Just wondering whether anyone saw this weeks 'Trust Me, I'm a Vet on telly, and the very biased report on the so called 'dangers' of feeding your dog raw meat!  Steve Leonard, who fronts the programme, is Ozzy's vet, (and a very good vet he is too) and I have to say that I'm very disappointed that he has allowed himself to be party to such a biased report, by one of the other vets who take part in the programme - and I shall be telling him so next time we see him with Ozzy!

Offline Andrea Ellie

Re: 'Trust Me, I'm a Vet'....
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2017, 03:26:22 PM »
I saw it too. I don't feed raw but I do sometimes give Ellie a raw bone. I was very surprised at how against raw feeding they were.

Offline piph

• Donator
  • Ozzy and Jess
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2017, 03:41:19 PM »
Have a look at this -  https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1709499702413121&id=156400551056385  and, if you have time, read some of the many, many comments - it's certainly got a lot of people's backs up, including mine, although I hasten to add that I didn't comment as I thought everything had already been said.  We started feeding Ozzy a commercially produced frozen raw diet late last year - it has helped him lose his excess weight and he's never looked better and more healthy, and he is no longer scrounging for food.  We've also started our new golden retriever pup Jess on the puppy version of the food and she's doing very well on it too.

Offline Murphys Law

« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2017, 04:43:09 PM »
I wonder if it has anything to do with the fact that vets don't sell raw food?

From previous experiences, I wouldn't trust a vet as far as I could throw them, especially when it comes to dog food.

Offline bizzylizzy

• Donator
  • 🙂 Jayne
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2017, 04:54:13 PM »