Author Topic: Mixing raw food with cooked?  (Read 1506 times)

Offline rubyduby

Mixing raw food with cooked?
« on: July 04, 2017, 06:21:02 PM »
One of my dogs has kidney and pancreatitis issues so is on a homecooked diet, she was on raw and her sister who is fine is still on a raw (naturesmenu) diet, I do put some rice etc on the raw food as the sister seemed to think she was missing out, is it bad form to mix cooked and raw , or is it ok????

Offline bizzylizzy

• Donator
  • 🙂 Jayne
Re: Mixing raw food with cooked?
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2017, 07:08:29 PM »
I was told not to mix Kibble with raw as its digested at a different rate and could cause problems. But a lot of the ready raw mixes contain cereals, rice or potato which would have to be cooked. I've given Humphrey rice mixed with raw and  have never had any problems, so I think its probably ok, (although I have no experience with any special dietry needs regarding the pancreatitis/kidney issues)

Offline elaine.e

• Sweet William
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2017, 09:55:44 PM »
Personally I wouldn't mix rice in with the raw meat etc. that I feed my dogs, but that's got more to do with me being a believer that dogs don't need rice or other grains in their diet than worrying too much about mixing raw and cooked food. That's not to say that my two never get grains because they have a bedtime biscuit most nights and sometimes a corner of toast.

Offline ips

« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2017, 09:59:46 PM »
Personally I wouldn't mix rice in with the raw meat etc. that I feed my dogs, but that's got more to do with me being a believer that dogs don't need rice or other grains in their diet than worrying too much about mixing raw and cooked food. That's not to say that my two never get grains because they have a bedtime biscuit most nights and sometimes a corner of toast.

Toast, don't mention toast. We recently discovered eze no only knows the word but knows it if you spell it letter by letter. She loves toast 😁