Author Topic: Wooly legs!  (Read 1241 times)

Offline Terri in Devon

• Ollie
Wooly legs!
« on: April 15, 2011, 10:05:24 PM »
Ollie (black show cocker) is now nearly 10 months old.  I have been grooming him with the comb and elastic band.  He is looking lovely, his coat is so shinny, but his front legs (feathering) are still very woolly and quite dull in comparison to the rest of him, what should I be doing to get his front legs looking as good as the rest of him, your advice much appreciated. 

Offline bracken

• Site Member
Re: Wooly legs!
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2011, 04:09:14 PM »
I have a black show cocker too and she has a massive coat  :-\ I use the thinning scissors on her legs to take out the bulk but its an on going project  :005:

Offline Terri in Devon

• Ollie
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2011, 07:11:04 PM »
Thanks for your reply Braken.  I have been using the thinning scissors but am unsure how much to take out, I am new to this so am a bit worried about taking too much, will it grow back if I mess up?  Also there is a brown tinge to some of this fur which I think must be his puppy coat.  Do you think it will come out in time using the comb and elastic band or is the only solution the thinning scissors?

Offline bracken

• Site Member
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2011, 08:48:06 PM »
I'm still learning too,as she is my first show cocker  :luv: I have 4 others but they are just pets and 2 are clipped. I just take a little at a time let it go a day or two then take some more until I get the right look. I'm worried I will take to much also but it grows so quickly  :005: I look at loads of pics to get the finished I want...but must admit find the blend of ears and hocks very difficult, but determined to give it a go. My Lace still has lots of brown puppy coat on her tummy but I comb through gently but not with a band in this area.
Are you going to show Ollie ?

Offline Emma3

• Emma and Bella
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2011, 08:42:00 AM »