Author Topic: 2nd puppy  (Read 1425 times)

Offline Jenny

• Site Member
2nd puppy
« on: June 04, 2006, 03:52:28 PM »
I remember reading a thread on here recently about people who get another puppy soon after their first one but can't seem to find it now.  We really just want some honest advice.  Although we always knew we wanted another dog, we thought we would get one in a couple of years.  However, I have never been able to resist the idea of Barney having a companion during the day and also see other cocker owners with multiple dogs having great fun on their walks.  I had jokingly been hinting to OH about another dog and he had always said no.  Today we met a breeder when out for our beach walk who was admiring Barney.  Her working cocker was out for her first walk after having a litter 4 weeks ago and she had had some chocolate pups (we wanted our second to be a chocolate one).  They will be ready in 4 weeks which is just when my long summer hols start (I'm a teacher so I get 7 weeks.....sorry!!).  She seemed to think that this would be the perfect time to get another dog.  Barney will  be 8 months soon.  He is a very well trained dog who gets lots of attention and hasn't developed any bad habits so far.  He is now toilet trained (after a blip in the middle) and is the apple of our eye.  Our lives have totally changed for the better since getting him and we just love the fullfillment you get from having a dog.  I have researched the threads here and there seems to be a very mixed opinion on this.  I know that a lot of you have more than one dog and would like your advice.
I have a couple of questions:
1.  The pup we would get is a bitch, is it OK to mix them?
2.  Barney is crate trained and loves it.  Would we need another crate or just one giant one, and if so , how would this affect toilet training?  Would Barney revert back to needing out in the middle of the night?  Should we keep them separate until the pup is able to hold on all the way through?