Author Topic: Working Spaniels?????  (Read 1902 times)

Offline lynnruby

• Donator
  • Ruby
Working Spaniels?????
« on: April 03, 2012, 03:09:04 PM »
OK so I am fairly new to Cockers. I have had Ruby just over a year. The other day, on the way back from our walk we met a couple with a gorgeous golden boy. Ruby got very excited and wanted to play. When I commented that she seems to love other Cockers, the lady said her dog was not a Cocker. She said he was a Working Spaniel. He was only a bit taller than Ruby, definitely not a Springer, not a Fieldy...???

She said she used to be a "Kennel Maid" and knew her Spaniels!! She said that Ruby was quite clearly a Cocker, but her dog wasn't!! He looked exactly like the working strain Cockers I've seen on here!

Am I missing something?
Lynn

Offline langcliffe

• Settle Music
Re: Working Spaniels?????
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2012, 06:30:55 PM »
Nope! never heard of a working spaniel! Definitely not a KC recognised breed. Almost certainly a Working Cocker i would say...
Linda & Allan
 www.settlemusic.co.uk
Thinking about Music....

Offline Alex77

« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2012, 07:26:35 PM »
sounds like she likes to be 'different'.  ( :lol2:). i have heard someone refer to my Jasper (working type cocker) as a field cocker before.  i said i'd never heard of a field cocker was it diff to a working type? they just sort of blanked me! 
"the more one gets to know of men, the more one values dogs".

Offline Emilyoliver

« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2012, 07:34:39 PM »
I chatted to a woman a while ago who asked what kind of spaniels I had. Told her cockers. (they're show type). She said her daughter had been sold a pedigree puppy that looked like mine but had been told it was a 'water spaniel'  :huh:
Michelle, Emily and Ollie

Offline jaybee

• Donator
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2012, 08:27:32 PM »
Sounds a bit odd to me!