Author Topic: Luxating Patella in 11 week old Cocker Pup  (Read 1576 times)

Offline FrankieBlue

Luxating Patella in 11 week old Cocker Pup
« on: March 17, 2017, 04:54:35 PM »
Hi everyone!

This is my first time here. I am from Canada, and Cockers (or as they are called here, English Cockers) are not nearly as common! So, finding the 'Cocker experts' is hard. I thought this might be the place to find them! We need some help.

I searched high and low for a reputable breeder within either the US or Canada and a specific breeder, with a litter of puppies, came very very highly recommended. He is a wonderful breeder, I know the origins of his dogs and they all come from very long lines of healthy beautiful dogs. Hips, eyes and ears certified etc. He noticed the puppy we had picked was walking a little bit funny, so he took her to the vet. Long story short, the vet diagnosed her with a grade 1 luxating patella. He was totally stumped because he said it does not usually happen to Cockers. He believes that as she ages & grows, develops muscle and cartilage, that her knees could actually become normal. I felt fine as the vet explained it all to me then the second we left, I had to run over to Dr. Google which has scared the living crap out of me.

The breeder is totally devastated by this, I am too. I don't want her to have to suffer through life with arthritis and pain medication. Many recommend doing the surgery right away, many don't. Many recommend supplements, many don't. Some say it can heal and get better, some say it will never get better without intervention. Exercise her, no, don't do that. Bed rest instead! I. Am. So. Lost.

Any help or advice would be so immensely appreciated. I love her to bits and I am 10000% committed to doing everything it takes to get her better. Thank you so much for taking the time to read our story. Much love. X