Author Topic: Feeding......Help  (Read 1430 times)

Offline Teddy_cocker

Feeding......Help
« on: July 12, 2016, 09:29:04 AM »
Hi there

i am a newbie to the site and also a new cocker spaniel owner
my 11 week old puppy arived at my house on sunday and i was wondering if someone could please help me with how much puppy food to feed him

the breeder gave me a little bit of food but she gave me Adult food witch i have thought is wrong as a puppy will need puppy food for the nutrition and everything else in the food to help him develop more

i went out and got him some different food  (Beta puppy food)
firstly is this food any good? he seems to love it

also how much should i be feeding him as i dont want to give im too much or not if

thank you for reading
all comments very much appreciated
 :D

Offline Blueberry

• Donator
Re: Feeding......Help
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2016, 10:59:32 AM »
Hi there!  I'm a new puppy owner too.  I've had my little Blue for just 4 weeks.
There are as many ideas about feeding as there are Cockers On Line members!
I think it's one of those things you have to do some reading on and make up your own mind what line you want to take - grain free, raw, wet, dry etc.
I found this website is very helpful, you can enter any dog food brand/type and get a review and suggestions of similar foods.
http://www.allaboutdogfood.co.uk/the-dog-food-directory
I decided to go with Nutriment raw puppy food, which is delivered frozen.  My puppy went straight onto it the day after he came home from the breeders and he has thrived on it.  At 16 weeks he will go on to the Nutriment raw adult version.
The only disadvantage is that it does take up a bit of freezer space, and you have to remember to defrost it in good time, but it is excellent food, Blue loves it and it keeps the bowels under control - firm regular poo, which is not offensive and is easily picked up.  (I think this factor alone would be enough to convert me to raw feeding!)

Offline bizzylizzy