Author Topic: Consistent heeling  (Read 2065 times)

Offline Teddy2019

Consistent heeling
« on: April 19, 2020, 07:56:04 AM »

Hi all, newbie here. We have a 10month old male cocker pup (Teddy) and since we got him at 2months I practcied heel with him in the garden so he has a good idea of what it is and from previous experience of having a cocker (who didnt like heel) I wanted Teddy to be nice to walk.  Although on walks he is a nightmare and wants to pull even when tired out. He has done his bronze award and was good at heeling with a high value treat during the course. He doesn’t really care much for treats and when he is heeling well I praise him and he starts to pull. It is becoming really frustrating
as he knows what heel is as I sometimes stop and say heel and he walks backwards however he won’t walk at heel for long on his lead and off his lead he always tries to get ahead. Any idea of how I can get him more focussed on me and heeling so he’s not pulling? I have tried the stop method and that doesn’t work as well as the change direction method which does initially then he tries to pull again.

Offline Mari

• Site Member
Re: Consistent heeling
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2020, 09:23:41 AM »
Hello  :D Here is my take on leash walks.

While heeling can be useful for obedience training, crossing streets etc it is not very useful for walks. A proper walk where the dog is free to follow their nose and read the doggie newspaper is calming and satisfying for a cocker. Walking in heel is hard work for their brain and expecting them to do it for an entire walk is not likely to be satisfying for a spaniel. It is also a huge ask of a young dog. However, it is much easier to teach them to be polite on the leash and not pull if you give them some space to just be dogs if that makes sense.