Author Topic: new laptop needed - advice please  (Read 2816 times)

Offline blueroangirl

• Site Member
  • R.I.P Sweep 21.2.2004-7.12.2013
new laptop needed - advice please
« on: April 05, 2012, 11:05:57 AM »
I have been using my husband's work laptop for the past 3 years. Well yesterday it crashed and it doesn't look like it will recover. I have been looking at new ones - want it just for browsing the net, email, photos and skype when my daughter goes away to uni in the autumn. I've been considering the Acer Aspire 5750 or the SamsungSeries 3 NP300ESA. I don't want to spend more than £400 tops. Any advice or ideas?Thanks.

Offline Wenco18

• Donator
  • With Lottie and Lola in North Yorkshire
Re: new laptop needed - advice please
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2012, 11:22:05 AM »
We have always bought Dell, no complaints at all and excellent value for money - about £349 I think. I always rely on my oldest DD to advise me as I'm afraid I'm clueless. 

I'm sure someone will come along who knows more about it though  :D
Wendy, Lottie and Lola x

Lottie dob 26/04/09
Lola  dob  10/10/2011

Offline Bluebell

• Limited Member
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2012, 11:24:44 AM »
What about an ipad rather than a laptop, they start at £399! My OH bought me one for my birthday last year and I never use my laptop now  :D

Offline JeffandAnnie

« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2012, 01:12:52 PM »
Dell all the way for me - had them for years; work and home. OH has one too. The only issue I've had was a charger that conked out after a year and they replaced it the next day. I work for a council, and we have Dells - considering how tight the council is, they will have made damn sure they are the most cost effective! I worked for a company a few years back who initially had Acers, but they were really unreliable, so they switched to....Dells. We got our stepson an Acer Aspire for his 18th and it died after about 18 months - not impressed.