Author Topic: breeding  (Read 1411 times)

Offline lucieb

• Site Member
  • megan
breeding
« on: January 16, 2007, 03:04:19 PM »
hi, im pretty new to all this, as my meg is only 10 months old, but iv been thinking  that when she is old enough if possible i would like to breed from her, providing this is possible.  i have recently got a couple of books that i am reading up on but i would just like any information on what the first thing would be to do, espescially regarding the eye testing.
i havent had her eyes tested, how do i go about doing this, what other tests would she require and what sort of age does she have to be to do these tests.

Offline Jane S

• Administrator
Re: breeding
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2007, 03:15:05 PM »
Eyes can be tested from 12 months old but Optigen gene testing for PRA can be done at any age - this will tell you whether your girl is a carrier of the disease whereas a clinical eye test can only tell you if there is a problem at that particular moment in time. Hip scoring can be done from 12 months old. Your normal vet can usually do hip scoring but eye testing must be done by a veterinary opthalmologist. You'll find details of the eye testing and hip scoring schemes HERE. If you are interested in Optigen testing your bitch, you need to get your vet to take a blood sample and then send that sample off to Optigen in the US. Full details can be found on the Optigen website

It's good that you're asking questions so early but do be aware that breeding is a heavy responsibility and can cause a great deal of heartache as well as joy if (and it is only if) all goes well. Here are two websites which might help you in your research and give you pause for thought:

Virtual Breeding

Just One Litter

Jane

Offline Nicola

• FTCh Caoimhe
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2007, 03:23:21 PM »