Author Topic: registration  (Read 2447 times)

Offline gracie

• Site Member
registration
« on: February 16, 2003, 08:27:23 PM »
I purchased a cocker spaniel for the first time, i was given full pedigree papers but no kc registration, when i was told later that i should of had kc papers, i called the reputable breeder and was told that her mother had two litters in a year so kc would not register them. I was also told that this would not effect the selling of her future puppies, could you tell me if this is true. I paid £375 is this a decent price or have i been taken advantage of. How much could i sell her puppies for. Please help as im new to all of this. ???
Thanks
Heidi                    

Offline Pammy

• Inactive
registration
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2003, 09:16:53 PM »
Heidi

you have paid a fairly high price for a non KC reg'd bitch. You will not be able to register any puppies you may have from her with the KC. Having the pedigree to be blunt is not worth the paper it is written on as it is not validated in anyway - literally, and I'm not saying they have done, but the breeder could have put any old names down and you wouldn't know if they were right or not. The KC reg'n does not guarantee quality breeding but does at least confirm the details as being consistent with what they have recorded.

The KC do not allow more than one litter in 12 months to be registered in order to try and protect bitches from being over bred.

If you were looking for a brood bitch for the future I'm sorry but you needed to do a bit more homework before you bought your girl. I would just now enjoy her for what she is and if you are thinking of becoming invloved in breeding in the future - get yourself a copy of "The Book of the Bitch" before you buy your puppy - and then speak to several reputable breeders letting them know exactly what your plans are so that they can help share their experience with you .

hth                    
Pam n the boys