Author Topic: When is a pup Sexualy mature?  (Read 2067 times)

Offline Woefa

When is a pup Sexualy mature?
« on: April 02, 2010, 07:17:34 AM »
My girl is 8 months old now and she is always in the company of my male, 9months.
I don't want her to get pregnant untill she's atleast 2 years old and both of them have gone for a medical test to ensure they don't have hip-displacia or any other possible ginetic disease.
Now the question is, at what age will she be sexually mature and what can I do to prevent her from sitting with teanage pregnancy

Offline Philtrum

• Site Member
    • www.PhilLawrencePhoto.co.uk
Re: When is a pup Sexualy mature?
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2010, 09:10:56 AM »
Im no expert but would say at 8 and 9 months, that they could be making pups

its great that you are wanting to get them both tested etc before considering pups, as far as stoping a pregancy, I would suggest that you would have to ship the bitch off to a friend or familys house whilst she is in season, as it only takes a few moments for them to have done the deed, its also not fair from a stress point of both dogs as the male will be driven wild normaly by the smell and the bitch will be trying to lure him or get away i imagine too

im no expert, but hope you find the right solution quickly

out of interest what made you decide to become a breeder ?

Phil

Offline Woefa

« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2010, 12:04:40 PM »
8months? But she's not even fully grown, I would gues she's about 2/3rds fully grown!
Thanks for the info!
I don't really want to become a breader, but I've heard that a bitch must atleast have one litter before she's fixed.
How do I know that she has gone into heat?
Something to do with motherly instincts etc.
I will also only let her have one litter if I knew all the pups will go to a good home.

Offline Karma

• Site Member
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2010, 12:20:04 PM »