Author Topic: Working Cocker Puppies and Soft Toys?  (Read 4576 times)

Offline Hannahc7

Working Cocker Puppies and Soft Toys?
« on: October 28, 2013, 12:46:36 PM »
I am looking for some advice from those who gundog train their dogs.
Maggie is 5 months so hasn't really started proper training yet, I have just been doing some retrieves with a dummy, but we went to our breeder who will be helping us train her when the time comes and he said to get rid of all soft toys as she is getting into chewing the dummy and he thinks this is why.
I am new to gundog training so I am sure he is right. I just wondered if anyone else had any thoughts on how serious this is?
She is our only dog and really enjoys her soft toys so I feel a bit mean taking them away, but if it is really going to cause problems with the training I will.

Thanks in advance for any advice. :)

Offline Emilyoliver

Re: Working Cocker Puppies and Soft Toys?
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2013, 01:02:14 PM »
Pip (9 months) has soft toys (and a blanket he drags everywhere). He hasn't chewed his dummies and had his first cold game retrieve a couple of weeks ago. I don't believe he damaged it - there was no concern from the trainer.  However, all dogs are different and I would think it would be much easier to remove the soft toys (especially if any have squeakers) to avoid a habit of chewing/ biting developing. As once it is instilled I would think it would be difficult to remedy.  Reading I have done has mostly recommended having no soft toys in the house. I will add though, that I plan to do agility with Pip anyway, so it would not be a huge issue for me if he were to develop a hard mouth.  And he could still do beating if he was dead keen on working and we were ever invited. So it depends really on what you ultimately want her to do and how serious you are about it.
Michelle, Emily and Ollie

Offline JeffD

• TEAL
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2013, 03:24:28 PM »