Author Topic: Beating vs. picking up?  (Read 1803 times)

Offline sophiew

• Donator
Beating vs. picking up?
« on: October 05, 2009, 08:37:43 PM »
Hello

I don't even have my puppy yet, but my boyfriend is keen to train her to do a bit of gundog work so he can take her on shoots. I'm not sure how I feel about the whole thing yet - I'm very interested in the dog training side of it but less good with things being shot (I'm too fluffy!). I had considered going beating but we've been told this will make the dog too over-the-top if we ever want her to pick up - is this true? What 'jobs' are there for a working cocker on a shoot and what should we be aiming for?

Sorry, am a complete novice at this particular area of dog training - am reading some books though!

Thanks in advance

Sophie
x

Offline Nicola

• FTCh Caoimhe
Re: Beating vs. picking up?
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2009, 09:58:07 PM »
No that is not true! I'm not sure how this person came to that conclusion - were they talking about Cockers being used as peg dogs? :huh:  Cockers are dual purpose dogs, they flush (beating) and they pick up. In a Cocker field trial they are expected to do both and my dogs do both when working and they are far from 'over the top'. It's true that Labs are considered to be the 'rolls royce' of retrieving dogs on most shoots and your average Cocker is not going to go as far as a Lab for a retrieve or get to the standard of a top working Lab but that doesn't mean that they don't/can't make excellent little retrievers/picking up dogs. Cockers can also make good peg dogs; although a Lab is probably going to be the first choice of a gun looking for a peg dog as it requires them to sit still for extended periods which is not an altogether natural state for a Cocker they can and do do it.