Author Topic: At wits end with recall  (Read 1910 times)

Offline Samrennie

At wits end with recall
« on: August 12, 2020, 06:14:27 AM »
Hi

We have a gorgeous 9 month old working cocker who I am having major problems with recall. She had recall as a young puppy and we used both a come command and a 210.5 whistle but over the past couple of months the recall has gone to zero. She is very good with commands in the house and will generally recall to the whistle in the house and garden, we play hide and seek with her and she also knows the basic normal commands of sit, stay, leave etc and has been working very hard on impulse control and a “look” command. Even the loose lead walking that I have been working on for a couple of months is starting to come along nicely.

Recall is just awful now though and I am tearing my hair out, I use a long line on all walks now and while she will sit when I change over from the short walking lead to the long training lead as soon as we start walking again she just charges off and tears about at the end of the lead no matter how short or long it is. If she doesn’t have the training lead on (or we drop the training lead) she will just disappear at 100 miles, occasionally crossing our path but generally we don’t know where she is or what she is up to. I feel like I have tried everything to get recall, high value treats (hot dog!) that is only used for recall, other treats, tennis balls, new expensive tug toys, books on recall and some 121 training (which we initially got to help with the loose lead walking but as that has improved her recall has reduced – we now can’t afford any more 121s) but nothing seems to work for more than about a day and once she has her nose on the ground/sees birds her focus has gone and she is not interested in anything I try to offer her. We try and only use the whistle to keep consistent with that.