Author Topic: flatulence  (Read 2180 times)

Offline bizzylizzy

• Donator
  • 🙂 Jayne
flatulence
« on: January 15, 2017, 05:31:52 PM »
Does anyone have any tips re flatulence please? Humphrey's fed raw and I DIY it, the mix depends on what I can get and what's in season. I mixed up 3 weeks supply on Friday but although he's eating it, he's suddenly started "popping off"  ;) rather a lot. I don't think there's anything wrong with the food - (although I did add wholegrain rice this time, which I've never done before, ) so I don't want to ditch it  but don't fancy having to fling the windows open for the next 3 weeks!   :020:(sorry, couldn't find a nose holding emoticon!! :005:)
All suggestions gratedully received!!  :005:

Offline tenaille

Re: flatulence
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2017, 06:02:40 PM »
sorry no help here as Martha has been the same for a couple of weeks !!  ph34r
She is fed twice a day with half kibble with a wet topping and boy she could clear a football stadium, generally in the evening.
Otherwise no symptoms except poops a bit soft.   :o

Offline Patp

• Donator
  • Jinley
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2017, 06:05:49 PM »
I feed raw but do not add rice of any kind - it's a carb that they don't need.  If his problem has only started since you have given him rice then cut it out until you know for sure.  It might help to get some Kefir from the supermarket it is like a goats Milk yoghurt it should get his gut back to normal.

Offline Londongirl

• Donator
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2017, 06:10:13 PM »
I wonder if it's an age thing. Henry has started dropping silent-but-deadly farts in the last month, which he never did before and nothing in his diet has changed. It's usually around the same time of day (early evening). He managed to drive our lodger out of the room the other day!
Rachael (me) and Henry (him)

Offline phoenix

• Donator
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2017, 06:11:01 PM »