Author Topic: Senility In Cockers  (Read 1388 times)

Offline flora

• Site Member
Senility In Cockers
« on: December 15, 2004, 06:38:30 PM »
Hi I am new to this game so hope you get this I have an 11yr old cocker who is dirtying in the house this has got a lot worse lately my vet thinks after trying different medication that it might be time to say good bye. Is there anyone out there that might have gone thrrough the same problem and have some advice i need to try everything before i make a disision.he does think that it is senile dimenta and this is the kind thing to do

Offline Hel

• Site Member
Senility In Cockers
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2004, 07:12:54 PM »
So sorry to hear what your dog and you are going through.

Senility in very old cockers does occur - my parents' cocker Max aged 16 developed dementia.  

However, at the age of 11, I would be wary of thinking it was dementia, although it is possible.  

Does he have any other symptoms?  When did the loss of house training happen?  

Offline flora

• Site Member
Senility In Cockers
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2004, 09:06:02 PM »
thank you for replying she started wetting ect about 10mionths ago althoughshe would have the occasional accident she has many health problems
she is on thyroxine and has been since the age of 2 she is atopic [ i think thats what they call it she is allergic toa lot of things including fleas house mite birds and many more she has steriods tablets when things get bad. she sometimes when you shout her lokks in the wrong direction or even goes out of the room to look for you whenyour standing right behind her.  I am thinking of getting a second opinion and maybe some bloods done just to rule things out what do you think.

Offline suzysu

• Site Member
Senility In Cockers
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2004, 09:17:22 PM »
:( Flora - I am so sorry to hear about your cocker, I hope someone can help out with some advice.