Author Topic: Minnie lies down in pain after eating  (Read 1206 times)

Offline JohnK

• Donator
  • Produced for Minnie, Dennis and Rosie
Minnie lies down in pain after eating
« on: November 30, 2013, 07:47:24 AM »
Minnie has had this problem on and off for a while now, where immediately after having her food she lies down in pain after eating, sometimes crying if you touch her tummy. They are all on Applaws Chicken, which is very high in protein and the vet suggested maybe its too rich for her. Has anybody else noticed this symptom with their dogs? Are there any suggestions as to how we can change her diet to help this problem?

Offline elaine.e

• Sweet William
Re: Minnie lies down in pain after eating
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2013, 08:08:35 AM »
I'm no expert, but if it's happening immediately after eating I don't understand how it could be due to the protein levels in her food as the food wouldn't be digested at that stage.

Does she bolt her food down John? If so it might be worth trying one of those food bowls that slow down their eating, or putting her food in a Kong, or breaking her food down into several smaller meals to see if that makes any difference. You could also try putting her food bowl on a stand so she's not eating it at floor level.

Another thought, does she have a big drink of water straight after a meal? Louis likes to and I take the water bowl away for a while if I think he's drinking too much in one go as I think it makes him uncomfortable for a while.

Changing her food could also be worth trying just to see if it makes any difference, but if it was me I'd try some of the other ideas first rather than change her from a food that you think suits her.

Hope you find a solution soon :D

Offline wendall

• Donator
  • Honey and Pip
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2013, 12:19:00 PM »
No help I`m afraid John, but I hope she gets over this soon xxxx
Rosie,rest in peace my beautiful little girl, you will be in my heart forever. 2/2/12-24/10/12