Author Topic: Puzzled about colours  (Read 3302 times)

Offline DawnLou

• Site Member
Puzzled about colours
« on: August 04, 2003, 10:21:03 AM »
This may seem a really stuuuupid questions to all of you who know cockers well, but this has been puzzling me....  I imagined that for blue roan puppies you put two blue roans together, but then I discovered that there is an orange roan somewhere in Jarvis's background that came from a blue roan.  Now, I studied genetics so know how the gene thing works and recently heard of a blue roan and golden cocker from a working line who produced blue roans, goldens and a chocolate.  So I guess my ultimate question is can you put any colour cocker with any other, for example blue roan with black and tan - I am not contemplating breeding, but this whole thing has got me wondering???????  Can anyone shed any light on this for me???                    
Dawn and Jarvis

Offline LindaW

• Site Member
    • http://www.shandardel-cockers.co.uk
Puzzled about colours
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2003, 10:34:09 AM »
Nowadays breeders tend to keep the particolours separate from the solid colours but in the old days they were frequently mixed.  If you breed a solid coloured cocker with a particolour you can get mismarked puppies (solids with white flashes).  A blue roan bitch of mine was mated to a blue roan dog and produced a large litter containing - orange roans, blue roans, liver roans and tricolours. If you have studied genetics you will know that this is because the parents both carry the gene for these colours.   Her daughter, an orange roan was mated to another orange roan and had a litter of all orange roan puppies.  I mated her again to a blue roan dog and she had all blues! What I am trying to say really is that anything is possible with cockers though not necessarily desirable for various reasons!   ??? Linda                    
Linda
xx
Jodie, Pippa, Daisy, Lolly, Gem, Tigger, Butty, Fanny and Coco!

Offline DawnLou

• Site Member