Author Topic: Gold to Gold Cockers  (Read 3406 times)

Offline anjalahnisl

• Site Member
Gold to Gold Cockers
« on: May 25, 2004, 02:16:46 AM »
Hello to all. I am new to the forums so please have patience. I am curious about something I have recently been told. If you mate a Gold girl to a Gold boy you should only get Gold pups. Is this true or have I been misinformed. I have 2 gold cockers that we were going to breed, (the colour was not an issue with our breeding program) but due to unforseen circumstances that is now not possibe. Could someone please help me out in this subject. I thought I studied well on the breed and now I would just like to know that I am not as dumb as I am feeling right now. Thankyou to anyone who can offer advice.                    

Offline Jane S

• Administrator
Gold to Gold Cockers
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2004, 08:57:04 AM »
Yes what you have been told is quite correct, gold to gold should only produce gold puppies (gold being a recessive colour). There is a very rare possibility that 2 golds could produce black but both parents would have to have the unusual colour genes for this to happen - it's too complicated to go into here but suffice to say, it's very unlikely & in most cases if you mate gold to gold, this is the only colour you will get.

Jane                    
Jane

Offline anjalahnisl

• Site Member
Gold to Gold Cockers
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2004, 01:35:09 PM »