Author Topic: IBS Food Question  (Read 713 times)

Offline hollyd443

• Donator
IBS Food Question
« on: August 29, 2014, 01:08:47 PM »
Hi, I'm asking for someone else's spaniel who has IBS (confirmed through biopsies) and they're currently feeding prescription diet with no avail. As I've had good results in home made diets for health problems I suggested the same but I've no experience in this case. Just wondering what other peoples thoughts are? She's a sweet little dog and she has endless vet trips, investigations, she's a young dog and it's such a shame.

Thank you.

Offline Jessie_Pup

• Donator
Re: IBS Food Question
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2014, 03:59:33 PM »
Could try contacting Natural Instinct  and Nutriment they both do a special diet for dogs with colitis , IBS problems.  It is raw just defrost and serve.

Offline vixen

• Stevie and Marley
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2014, 05:50:17 PM »
Sorry to hear about the young spaniel  :'(
Have you read this article?

http://www.thewholedog.org/artIBS.html

For human sufferers , my eldest daughter takes peppermint tea for IBS and finds it beneficial.
Max (GSP)  always in my heart

Offline hollyd443

• Donator
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2014, 06:30:52 PM »
Thank you both. I've contacted natural instinct and they have a specific diet for the problem. I'll pass on all the info. She's just been moved to another hills diet and I think she'd really benefit from a more natural food choice.

Offline Nicola

• FTCh Caoimhe
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2014, 09:18:08 PM »