Author Topic: Help with stop whistle  (Read 1766 times)

Offline nicolatong

• Limited Member
Help with stop whistle
« on: November 30, 2008, 09:05:53 PM »
Hi there my 6/7 month old bitch won't stop on my stop whistle I must point out I'm a total novice :( iv been  getting help from a friend who works his dogs aswell as reading loads on this and the nobs website I want to start beating with maggi soon as she is ready :) she recalls to four peeps on my whistle and 'gets in' when I tell her but when I do one peep for stop she runs straight back to me and sits with tail wagging bless her any advice would be gratefully received
Many thanks

Offline Helen

• helen noakes jewellery
Re: Help with stop whistle
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2008, 09:28:28 PM »
does she respond to a hand signal for a sit or a lie down?

We started off teaching Jarv the stop whistle by first getting him to respond (at close quarters) to a hand signal for a sit.  Once that was solid we would do the one peep plus the hand signal.  We started off with him directly  sat in front of us (in the house) and then slowly slowly increased the distance, outside in the garden, and then in the field. 

helen & jarvis x

Offline nicolatong

• Limited Member
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2008, 09:46:36 PM »
she sits to me holding my hand in the air when I feed her also when she recalls I then put my hand up and she sits when I try when to do it at distance she runs back and sits >:(

Offline Crazy Cocker Gang

• Donator
  • Jack, Flynn, Brie and baby seth xx
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2008, 01:36:59 PM »
Jack did this if we tried to increase the distance too quickly.
Start getting him to sit to whistle at your feet, then when hes close to you and pottering about ask him to do it at small distances. Build up the distance you expect him to sit slowly.