Author Topic: Show grooming  (Read 7493 times)

Offline Eljay

• Site Member
Show grooming
« on: April 18, 2003, 10:35:18 PM »
Can I have some advice on grooming for a show.
I'm not sure whether I can use thinning scissors on the front of the legs or do they have to be hand plucked? And do you hand pluck the back legs? Also can you use thining scissors on the ears at the top? I'ts difficult to see from a lot of the pictures in the books as they are all taken from the side view. ???
Sorry to appear stupid but I've never done this before so it's all new  :-[                    
Alfie, and Jay J. together over the Rainbow Bridge. Always in our hearts but dreadfully missed.

Offline Jane S

• Administrator
Show grooming
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2003, 10:54:33 PM »
Hi Lou

In the old days, you handstripped everything including legs, tops of ears etc but that was when coats were finer & not as heavy as they are today. Nowadays, there are some coats you can totally handstrip & some you can't - it all depends on the coat eg I can handstrip the tops of the ears on Ruby but wouldn't attempt it on some of our heavier coated dark blues. So basically, you handstrip as much as you can but where you can't, you carefully use your thinning scissors :) When you say about the back legs, do you mean the stifles or the rear pasterns? Stifles you would try to handstrip but pasterns would be neatly trimmed with scissors.

Jane                    
Jane

Offline Eljay

• Site Member
Show grooming
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2003, 11:10:53 PM »
Hi Jane,

Thanks very much. I will try to trim him up a bit now, as I have not wanted to use the scissors in case I was wrong. He has quite hairy legs so I think the thinning scissors will help.

Lou.                    
Alfie, and Jay J. together over the Rainbow Bridge. Always in our hearts but dreadfully missed.

Offline Jane S

• Administrator
Show grooming
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2003, 11:21:21 PM »