Author Topic: Judging  (Read 1317 times)

Offline sarah25

• Site Member
  • Charbonnel Love'N'It At Oramiss
    • Oramiss Cocker Spaniels
Judging
« on: April 03, 2005, 12:49:04 PM »
hi i would love to start judging our lovely breed i have been showing golden rets with my mom for about 6 years and cockers for about 6 months an have also started to handle irish setters for people.
i no wht i am looking for in these 3 breeds.i have been going 2 seminars an also going to 1 soon.
but i am only 15 do u think i should wait till i am a bit older i would really like 2 start juding as soon as pos but i no it takes time.do u have 2 b a steward for a bit.
im also scared in case no 1 cms under me  :unsure:
has any body got a few more tips for me or if u no of some books websites tht would be a great help for me thanks  :) i have been going over a few dogs now at ringcraft an i feel that i could go over a dog an notice a prob if there woz 1

sarah

Offline Georgie

• Site Member
Judging
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2005, 01:01:06 PM »
No idea if THIS will be any help. Probably not, but oh well.

Good luck :)
From Georgie and Bailey xxx

Offline Dunton4

• Site Member
Judging
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2005, 07:18:07 PM »
Hi Sarah,

By chance, yesterday I was leafing through a book at Pets at Home called "Good Judgement" by Peggy Grayson.  It was a handbook for judges and I thought it looked very interesting (even though I will never be a dog judge!)  Don't know how you get into judging, though.  Maybe some of the COLiners who judge would be able to give you advice?

Sue and Tilly

Offline chelsea

• Site Member
    • http://www.quintaviacockerspaniels.co.uk
Judging
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2005, 08:21:19 PM »
It might be a good idea to get hold of the 'Breed standard' as this might help! ;)
You should be able to buy it off the KC website.

Chelsea.

Offline *-Nikki-*

• Site Member
    • www.nicibec-cockers.moonfruit.com
Judging
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2005, 08:56:35 PM »
Hi Sarah,