Author Topic: Help!! I need to nip the barking in the bud!  (Read 2245 times)

Offline jemfor

• Site Member
Help!! I need to nip the barking in the bud!
« on: July 30, 2019, 03:24:34 PM »
Hi there. Was hoping someone can help me. We lost our gorgeous girl Florence 18 months ago and have waited all this time to get a new puppy. We picked Bess up four weeks ago now, she’s just turned 12 weeks.
I know it’s been a while since we had a puppy but I really don’t remember it being this bad. At first she cried and howled at night, that’s stopped now. However .... she does not like being left alone during the day. For the first two weeks my husband took annual leave so we could start all the training early. I am a teacher so it’s my turn, last week I stayed with her every day, all day. This week I was hoping to build up some time for her to be alone. If I leave her downstairs and go upstairs she’s fine, but her crate/ playpen is in the garage ( which is integral to the house) and if I put her in there she barks and barks and barks! Constantly!!
I’ve tried leaving the kitchen door open with her in the pen but that doesn’t work either, I’ve given her toys and treats and a hot water bottle.
I really need to nip this in the bud so it doesn’t become a habit. Any tips? Thank you 😔

Offline Darwin

Re: Help!! I need to nip the barking in the bud!
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2019, 05:26:36 PM »
Is there any way you can fit a crate into one of the rooms in the house, not the garage,  then maybe it can be her safe place and she won’t feel completely excluded when she’s in her crate.  This might give you a better opportunity to build up the time you can leave her.

We’ve always had Darwin’s crate in the kitchen, by the kitchen back door and we use the patio door as our back door instead  He’s always happy to pop into this crate, especially if I’m in the kitchen and luckily we’ve never had an issue leaving him. 

Offline Patp

• Donator
  • Jinley
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2019, 05:58:16 PM »