Author Topic: Passing on an old pc  (Read 3511 times)

Offline SkyeSue

• Inactive
Passing on an old pc
« on: January 13, 2009, 05:37:03 PM »
I have a pc which I'm planning to give to a friend. Its in perfect working order, but I never use it as I always use the lap top. I have been told that all I need to do to remove any of my personal stuff is run the Windows disc on it again (the original one I got with the pc - its XP home). Is that correct?

Sue and Chloe, happy girls on the Isle of Skye

Offline Mundyboy

Re: Passing on an old pc
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2009, 05:46:28 PM »
I can not say for certain.  I always take the memory card out of a PC before I dump it.  When I work in a school I negotiated a donation on a number of PC's from a local firm of solicitors who told me all memories had been 'wiped'  We we powered up the machines in the school we found literally 100's of confidential files on each machine.  You can not be too careful.   :-*
I love my dogs.  They make it worth getting out of bed in the morning.

Offline SkyeSue

• Inactive
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2009, 05:50:11 PM »
I can not say for certain.  I always take the memory card out of a PC before I dump it.  When I work in a school I negotiated a donation on a number of PC's from a local firm of solicitors who told me all memories had been 'wiped'  We we powered up the machines in the school we found literally 100's of confidential files on each machine.  You can not be too careful.   :-*

Hmmm...so if I remove the memory card, presumably new owner will need to buy a memory card then. Is that easily obtained and inserted? Sorry for my ignorance, I'm not very technologically minded  ph34r

Offline Joules

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2009, 05:52:46 PM »