Author Topic: Visiting puppies  (Read 1150 times)

Offline lexi

• Site Member
    • Spaniel Photos
Visiting puppies
« on: August 14, 2011, 10:18:44 AM »
Friends have already been to choose their new pup from a litter which was born on August 2nd. At the time the puppies were four days old. Is it customary for breeders to allow visitors to see such young pups?? My gut feeling tells me it isn't but perhaps I'm wrong.

Thanks for your feedback. :D

"Always be a little kinder than necessary." J.M. Barrie
Lexi, Mac, Shadow & Galak (with Holly & Byron in our hearts)

Offline maddy74

Re: Visiting puppies
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2011, 10:21:12 AM »
I would say that is too young but im not very experienced in these areas really. I am sure someone will be along soon with some advice.  :D

Offline Toni-UK

• Site Member
  • Booby-Doo
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2011, 10:31:38 AM »
From what i can remember from similar questions,No it isn't usual for a breeder to let viewings/visitors in this early.

AFAIK,there is risk of infection and it's not fair on mum either.

I am sure there will be someone more knowledgeable along shortly  ;)
People laugh at me because I'm different, but I laugh at them because they are all the same.

Offline lexi

• Site Member
    • Spaniel Photos
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2011, 10:39:09 AM »
AFAIK,there is risk of infection and it's not fair on mum either.

That's what I was thinking, too.  ;)

Offline cangrejo

• Charlie & Dexter, my beautiful boys xx
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2011, 10:47:46 AM »
It does sound way too early.
Rosie, Charlie & Dexter xxx
Charlie 31/12/09
Dexter 17/06/11

Offline penfold

« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2011, 10:49:24 AM »
Not at all normal....usually around 4wks at the earliest for a whole variety of reasons  :o

Are you sure your friend actually 'saw' the pups rather than just visit the breeder?

Offline sands

• My pretty girls!
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2011, 11:33:31 AM »
Totally agree Penfold.  ;)