Author Topic: Challenging times!  (Read 958 times)

Offline siam

• Site Member
Challenging times!
« on: July 30, 2010, 02:02:40 PM »
I am new to having a show cocker spaniel, as my last boy was a a working one. I have been looking through past posts on the forum for tips on keeping on top of  Alfie's very plentiful coat. I am in awe of all the people who are making a great job of trimming and grooming their own cockers as I am struggling to give him a good brush/comb to get to the bottom of any matts. Today I had him on a short lead attached to the garden seat and was amazed at how much he could still move about. I had a supply of kibble to treat him, but he consistantly wanted to give me paws and bite the handle of the brush/comb when I tried to do his legs. I have taken him to be groomed twice (he's 10mths) and he is due a visit in 4 wks but his legs are so thick they need to be well brushed or he's going to have problems with matts. I see that a grooming table is suggested but wonder if that's a bit OTT as I'm not planning to clip him myself, as the groomer makes al ovely job of him, and groomed my previous cocker for 13years. However, if it will help solve some of the brushing problems I would happily get one.

Offline ElaineH

• Donator
  • Handsome Morgan 19/06/2008 - 03/03/2024
Re: Challenging times!
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2010, 02:23:00 PM »
I used the ironing board for ages with Morgan before I decided to get a grooming table. Because the ironing board can be a bit wobbly, the dogs tend to stand rather still  ;) Someone suggested Primula cheese helps to keep them focused away from the brush handle too!
"Histories are more full of examples of the fidelity of dogs than of friends"  Alexander Pope

Offline Ninasmum

• Limited Member
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2010, 03:58:08 PM »