Author Topic: new puppy  (Read 1466 times)

Offline claire1

• Site Member
new puppy
« on: February 02, 2004, 05:11:00 PM »
Hi there, I'm new to this site, but maybe some of you could give me a few tips. We're going to collect our cocker puppy in 2 weeks. He's called Fergal and he's gorgeous. Anyway, I have to admit to being a bit nervous about the big day..... how's the car journey.....will he like us......where should he sleep.......how long does it take for him to settle in......i've taken some time off work so he won't be by himself in the house for a while. If anyone could tell me what to expect or if you've got any useful tips they would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Claire x                    

Offline Katherine

• Site Member
    • http://www.howellsdesign.co.uk/katherine//
new puppy
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2004, 06:06:52 PM »
Hi

We've only had our pup, Barnaby for a few weeks now so I'm not that experienced but I'v got a few tips. First of all, don't be nervous. We were nervous before hand and it all turned out fine. Puppies settle in very quickly and will be used to you within days.
Don't worry about the car journey either, we had a two hour car journey back and he slept all the way. He may vomit a bit as it'l be his first car journey but that would be expected. About the bed, its really your choice, if you have a safe room that you don't mind him having free run of, i'd just put him in there. If not you could buy a puppy play pen, which is like a cage with no top or bottom. He can go in there to sleep or to just have some quiet time.
I think that the hardest thing is stopping them weeing on the floor.
Some people say that you should teach him to wee on the newspaper first and then try to get him out into the garden, but I suggest that you get him to wee outside from the start, it saves time and he will learn quicker.
I reccomend this book; THE PERFECT PUPPY by Gwen Baily. Its a great guide and I swear by it.