Author Topic: Help Or Rehome  (Read 6654 times)

Offline tarina

• Site Member
Help Or Rehome
« on: February 13, 2006, 05:00:55 PM »
:angry: My cocker bitch is now 12months old.  Her chewing is just getting out of hand.  telephone, extension leads, cane furniture and today the hearth rug.  She has loads of toys and chews, has a good run at least twice a day, plus a large enclosed garden to play in.  How do I stop the chewing, being a pensioner I cannot afford to keep replacing large items.  Please help as my patience has almost run out.

Offline isla

• Site Member
Help Or Rehome
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2006, 05:10:27 PM »
I'm sorry to here that you are having probs. I've no direct experience of this but I'm sure someone will be along soon with some helpful suggestions that can help  :)

Offline Pammy

• Inactive
Help Or Rehome
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2006, 05:30:24 PM »
First welcome to the fprum, second sorry to hear you are having problems. :(

I think you need to go right back to basics with this girl or you might even need a one to one with a behaviourist to observe what's making her behave in this way.

Chewing is usually a short term problem associated with teething, to be continuing so long suggests it has become a learned behaviour. Is she OK in all other ways?

To save your sanity you need to teach her what she can and can't chew. Do you have a crate? If not then I strongly suggest you invest in one to protect your home and your girl. If she's chewing cables she could do herself serious harm :o

Try giving her stuffed kings - they can keep them occupied for some time. She might also need more mental stimulation.  Is she left on her own for long periods? If so then perhaps the crate or a baby gate might help.

There are so many things that may be the cause and that may help that it's quite difficult to cover here- but hopefully there are some pointers. Please do tell us more about your situation and we may be able to give better advice ;)