Author Topic: Mobile Broadband Dongle coverage in Norwich area  (Read 4239 times)

Offline Abbi

Mobile Broadband Dongle coverage in Norwich area
« on: May 02, 2010, 03:44:34 PM »
We are going to be visiting the Norwich area in June and want to get a Pay as You Go Broadband Dongle to use on my laptop while I'm there. I am completely new to dongles and want to know if anyone lives in this area and can recommend a good network as I know that some mobiles don't have good coverage in rural areas (we shall be in the Wroxham area). Would there be any coverage on the broads?

I am looking at the 7.2Mbps speed but don't know if this is available on all the networks either?

Any help with buying one would be appreciated as there seem to be so many different types. Also are there any where you don't have to use the top up all within 1 month. I have seen some where you pay about £30 and this comes with 1Gb which has to be used within 1 month. Not too much of a prob but if there are any with a longer life span that would be good as we won't really use it at home.

Thanks for any advice.

Offline Holly Berry

• Donator
  • Today I’m going to be a b****r
Re: Mobile Broadband Dongle coverage in Norwich area
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2010, 05:25:34 PM »
Hi Brenda,

we use 3G and that works well at our caravan which is in a really poor spot for mobile phone reception. On the spur of the moment OH went into Tesco and bought the dongle as it was only £13. Its pay as you go and the min charge is £10 per 1gb and that seems to last for ages. You do have to use it within the month or lose it from purchase date, but you can top up at anytime; its not a throw away.

Today my available amount was 220mb and I've dipped into COL throughout the day and probably been online for a couple of hours total and I still have 195mb left.

If you go to the website put your postcode in to see what the reception is like. Ours only shows poor and we only get 1 bar on the guage but it works fine.