Author Topic: Working dog food  (Read 6662 times)

Offline rubytuesday007

Working dog food
« on: September 22, 2011, 07:08:01 AM »
Hi, I'm new to being a puppy mum and to the forum so apologies if this is in the wrong place.
This may sound a silly question but whats the difference between working puppy food and non working puppy food. We got Ruby at 9 weeks old and she was on chudleys puppy food, and although its hard to get hold of where i live its what we've kept her on. She's now 14 weeks and doing really well, at 16 weeks she is supposed to progress to Junior but wanted to weigh up my options before we start the change over??
any advice gratefully accepted.

Offline LurcherGirl

• Site Member
    • Wagging Tails Dog Training
Re: Working dog food
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2011, 10:48:07 AM »
Working dog foods are usually higher in energy - and no VAT, so usually cheaper  :lol:. However, working dog food for resting dogs is usually ok for your average pet dog and normal working dog food is fine for fairly active pet dogs.

My pet dogs have been fed working dog food for many years doing well on it.
Vera Marney
BSc (Hons) Canine Behaviour and Training, APDT UK
www.wtdt.co.uk and www.wtdt-eastanglia.co.uk

Offline Geordietyke

• Donator
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2011, 10:53:46 AM »
Odie (21 months) is on a working dog food even though he's not a worker.  He does extremely well on it, especially in his toilet habits if you see what I mean ph34r :005:  His coat is lovely and glossy and he finishes it all in one day, something he never did on his 2 other brands.

I asked my vet at his last check up if the food was OK and she said it is fine until he is about 5/6 years old and I may then want to review it. 

I had Odie on adult food from 6 months old btw.

Welcome to the forum :D
Both taken away from us far too soon. x  RIP Angels Odie & Archie, causing mayhem at the Rainbow, no doubt!

Offline rubytuesday007

« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2011, 01:50:03 PM »