Author Topic: New puppy Blodwen - day two! (new photos added on same link)  (Read 2819 times)

Offline rwasinski

Hello there everyone, newbie here - we picked up our new 10 week old baby girl yesterday morning. The three of us, hubby, Blodwen and myself are now sitting in front of the TV watching a Sunday afternoon film, exhausted!

Our first night wasn't too bad at all. We have a crate with a play pen area attached which she has taken to marvellously. She cried and howled once but when we went down to see her she had done a number two in her play area so we quickly cleared that up and stayed with her until she settled again, she was quiet then until hubby went down to see to her at 6.30am for her morning feed. The howling was heartbreaking though, as if someone was torturing her!

She doesnt feel comfortable going to toilet outside, she seems to feel a lot safer doing it in the kitchen - we try to clear it all up thoroughly after each accident. We keep an eye out for the crouching position and when she starts to go, tell her firmly 'no' and take her outside. She won't go outside but as soon as we bring her back in, she starts to go again. We keep reading the toilet training advice and info over and over, but we will persevere! We've tried taking a piece of newspaper out that she has already been on to the place in the garden where we want her to go but she didnt seem interested in that. It doesnt help with the raining weather which makes it soggy and damp and wet outside on the paving slabs.

She does get very distracted outside by the little stones she picks up from the patio floor - she picks them up and the crunching noise she makes is terrifying  -we try to get the stones out of her mouth as quickly as possible! 

Cannot get over how well behaved she is though, very placid and even tempered, will sit very quietly even when alone in her room (the kitchen). It's just such a pleasure having her around!

Rebecca, Blod-ness and Llew-bear!

Offline bajoleth