Author Topic: Father Sire, Dam Daughter  (Read 3899 times)

Offline ali carrera

• Limited Member
  • CARRERA & PORTIA
Father Sire, Dam Daughter
« on: January 14, 2010, 10:25:49 PM »
I am looking to get a new pup.
May I ask if it is common for the Dams Father to Sire a litter from his Daughter?
This is the case with the new pup I am considering.
I have no knowledge at all about breeding and do not intend to.

Offline Nicola

• FTCh Caoimhe
Re: Father Sire, Dam Daughter
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2010, 10:33:38 PM »
As of last year the Kennel Club no longer register puppies born from parent/offspring or sibling/sibling matings so these pups will not be able to be registered. Was it done purposely or is it an accidental litter? If done purposely I would really want to know why but in any case I would steer clear of buying an inbred and unregistered pup, this is not a common practice unless in very exceptional circumstances, as the KC terms it 'for scientifically proven welfare reasons'.

http://www.thekennelclub.org.uk/item/346
Nicola, Tilly, Rodaidh and Caoimhe x

http://www.flickr.com/photos/30049807@N08/

Offline spanielcrazy

• Site Member
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2010, 01:43:07 AM »
Father/daughter?! Not common but not unheard of (usually an accident; I hope  ::))

this is what I would do:

The madhouse: Michelle, Joy, Jordie, Gizmo, Bracken, Jewel

"My darlings,I love you more than life itself, but you're all ****ing mad!"  Ozzy Osbourne

Offline san

• Even and me
    • san's website
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2010, 12:24:45 PM »
it's the case for my cocker. arwen: her father is her grand father too ::)...it depends on the subject, but I 'm very happy with my dog, she's fantastic, very nice, always happy....but she's very little, she's on the limit of the standard. ;) such consangunity accentuate defaults, and if it's a good subject, give qualities too ;)

sorry for my english :embarassed:

San, Arwen ,Even and Ilfirīn, from Brittany

Offline Sharon