Author Topic: Weaning Pups  (Read 4224 times)

Offline Sophie

• Site Member
Weaning Pups
« on: August 12, 2003, 01:25:38 PM »
My Pups are now 2 1/2 weeks old and seem to be doing fine but their mum is getting very tired and a little disinterested in feeding them.  She has to be encouraged to go to them and let them suckle.  There seems to be plenty of milk but she is still a little sore.  We are considering starting to wean the pups to help out a bit so to speak.

Would welcome comments and suggestions                    

Offline Christine

• Site Member
Weaning Pups
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2003, 04:16:36 PM »
Hi you two!  Im afraid I have no experience if this, however I know Jane and a few others breed so they might be able to help.  I have heard of people doing this to help them along!!!!

Anyone have any ideas????                    
Jaspers mummy :)

Offline Jane S

• Administrator
Weaning Pups
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2003, 04:26:27 PM »
Hi Steve

Hopefully you will already have a copy of "The Book of The Bitch" on hand as this provides a lot of info about weaning puppies etc. You might also find this online article useful: http://www.peteducation.com/article.cfm?cl...1&articleid=887 There is no exact time when weaning should commence - it depends on how many puppies, how much milk Mum has etc. Most breeders commence weaning when a litter is between 2-3 weeks old & all have their own way of doing this, depending on what sort of diet they intend to feed their puppies.

Jane                    
Jane

Offline Sophie

• Site Member
Weaning Pups
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2003, 09:38:52 PM »
Hi Christine and Jane

Thanks for your input.  Jane, yes we have the Book of the Bitch and a great help it has been already!