Author Topic: Could do with some advice please.  (Read 1870 times)

Offline catcmartin

• Site Member
  • Hamish
Could do with some advice please.
« on: April 19, 2015, 06:17:02 PM »
My likkle darling Hamish is just 5 months old.  He seems to have gone into the teenage phase already. 
Previous good responses to sit are ignore unless he is tempted by a treat.  He will plank his bottom on a walk and refused point blank to move , I have tried changing directions and also tried training to get him to walk to heel to get him moving again which it does for a small distance then bottom planked again. 
We went to out first training class last week and he barked for the full hour except when we were actually training.  He does not bark a lot at home. 
Have I started training classes too early, Am I expecting too much at such a tender age.  I ended up cutting our walk short tonight because he refused to walk and but walked fine homeward bound.

Cathy 

Cathy
Belle my Angel 22-09-09
Charlie my Angel 11-12-2014
Hamish latest addition

Offline Toofast

Re: Could do with some advice please.
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2015, 08:32:00 PM »
Personally I would not put up with any of this nonsence, our little cockers are tough little B#*g#-s, give him a dam good tug, he will have to walk in the end or end up with a sore bum ! He is testing you to see just exactly what he can get out of this situation. Don't tolerate this behaviour and be firm with him.
Sometimes we have to go right back to very basic training, I never give treats for rewards just a genlte touch and a soft word.

Offline Koslg

• Donator
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2015, 08:36:13 PM »
Humbug can still nearly aged 5 try to sit on a walk and not budge. He may want to choose the route of his choice or he wants to go home to check his garden hasn't been invaded by aliens or to sleep. My choice is to say no this is the way we are going. Or I let him choose a route. But we walk. We try to change it so he isn't bored.