Author Topic: Any volunteers to contribute to a sticky thread to help newbie show goers?  (Read 1230 times)

Offline ludo

• Site Member
  • Enya
    • Shirepark Cockers
Would any of you experienced show people be kind enough to contribute to one to help newbie show goers.  I've asked the moderator if its possible to create one but as I am a newbie I'm not the right woman for the job  :005:

I know there is a lot of good advice on here already but thought perhaps a one-stop shop of tips and hints (the basics) would be a really useful starting point for people starting absolutely from scratch:  ;)  So I've thought of some things which I think would be helpful though others may have other ideas as well  :blink:

a) Ringcraft classes: what they are and how to find one near you.
b) Links to useful websites which give information about shows and the booking system.
c) Good places to shop and a list of basic equipment.
d) Something on conformation - perhaps a link to the kennel club breed standard.
e) A link to the breed society.
f) Something about judging - how do judges make an assessment of each dog against the breed standard?  How do they differentiate when there are so many nice dogs - I suppose I mean by this what are the finer points that make the difference between a good dog and an outstanding one.  That kind of thing.
g) What are the most common mistakes which novice handlers may fall into and how to avoid them.
h) Etiquette: are there any unwritten rules - for example - if placed at second or third place when do you leave the ring - is it ok to ask the judge for feedback after the class - perhaps as a frequently asked questions list.
i) Useful books - such as clicker training for showing - books on the cocker spaniel - where to get year books etc.