Author Topic: Finlay's and my first ringcraft class- what should I expect?  (Read 1045 times)

Offline poppy1407

Hey Just a little advice needed...I am taking Finlay to his first ring craft class next Tuesday, I am a novice in the showing world but its always something Iv wanted to do..iv been practising standing Finlay- dont know if Im doing it correctlytho :) and feeling over his body and under carridge and his mouth as advised by his breeder, he walks ok on his lead but not had that much practice as he is only 15 weeks, what will he be expected to do in his class? also how long do you have to do these classes for?

any advice appreciated xxxxx

Offline grracee

Re: Finlay's and my first ringcraft class- what should I expect?
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2011, 08:53:39 PM »
Sorry no advice but will be watching this thread as I'm hoping to take Toby to his first ringcraft class in a couple of weeks when he has had his injections :D

Offline Meggie

• Site Member
  • Winning The Gundog JHA Semi-Finals 2011
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2011, 09:01:03 PM »
take lots of treats and a toy- to keep them happy whilst waiting and to encourage them to walk  ;
Be calm- they'll pick up on your nerves if your nervous.
don't expect him to stand/move perfect first time out after all he's only a puppy.

our ringcraft class runs from 8 till 9.30 but we have a break in the middle and some go home in that break.  ;)

Good Luck
Meg x

Offline Loudon

• Donator
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2011, 09:19:03 PM »
Don't worry. Take someone with you and speak to other cocker owners.

I don't show at all now but remember at my very first ringcraft Palacecraig, Lenoxgrove, Wiljana and Shanaz all had young pups there and all were very helpful. It's just me that was useless. Ha,ha. Someone will show you the ropes. Remember your show lead, treats and slicker.

Offline poppy1407

« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2011, 09:33:11 PM »