Author Topic: Showing oranges  (Read 2664 times)

Offline Judith

• Hearts and flowers to my dogs!
Showing oranges
« on: April 26, 2012, 06:44:14 AM »
Hi, I am brand new to showing and been to a few shows which I enjoy, but have never seen any orange roans. I have a pup and keen on learning but having never seen any oranges wonder if this could go for or against ? A man I was chatting to ( not with cockers) said they don't like them , so I know there will be some out there and wondering if this made any difference really . Any advice or observations would be great, thanks all

Offline JaspersMum

• Donator
Re: Showing oranges
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2012, 08:06:45 AM »
Some judges do have a preference for certain colours although that is wrong and should be about the dog under the coat!  On occasions the oranges seem to do less well due to less full coats though, but that applies to any colour that lacks coat.

There are some very successful oranges in the ring at the moment and in the past, if the dogs confirmation and movement are good, that is what should get the place.

I'm sure Jane will be along in a while, she and Andrew have had success with oranges so can speak from experience

Jenny - owned by Jasper, Ellie, Heidi, Louie & Charlie

Offline Jane S

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2012, 08:57:58 AM »
We have shown oranges making up one orange & white show Champion and nearly making up her orange & white son so oranges can do very well but like Jaspersmum said, there are some judges who won't look at the colour (we tried to avoid those, not always successfully :005:) but if you have a good orange, he or she will do well, not every time and not under every judge but that is true for any colour. Coats can be a problem sometimes with the finer coated oranges, especially the girls when they drop their feathering after a season (but again that goes for a lot of girls, whatever the colour :D).