Author Topic: Total Beginner! Just want to have a go!  (Read 1131 times)

Offline Becky and Wilson

• Site Member
Total Beginner! Just want to have a go!
« on: September 28, 2010, 12:24:26 PM »
Hi,

I've never posted on here before because I usually do agility with my dogs (show types  ph34r ), but recently Paisley's nose has been getting the better of her and she doesn't seem as keen as she usually is on it.  So I've decided to give her a 6 week break and see how she is after that.  But I don't want to do nothing with her for 6 weeks so want to have a go at some gundog training! 

All the training classes I can see near me look VERY serious and I only really want to do a few basics for a bit of fun and so I keep her mind working and we keep a good bond!

She loves to go and find tennis balls in the long grass (especially when I get her to sit and wait and then tell her to go get it!) and she seems to like using her nose too.  Retrieving is not exactly great, she will but drops it about a meter away or will go and find it and then run around with it for a while! 

Can anyone suggest some basics for us to work on?  Or maybe a more fun gundog day to go to?

Thanks

Becky
Becky - Owned by Wilson(Great Dane), Paisley, Isla, Merfyn (Cockers) the 3 cats and the two rabbits!

Offline Black Red + Yellow

• Inactive
Re: Total Beginner! Just want to have a go!
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2010, 12:49:26 PM »
It can be very very serious stuff eh.....my hubby choses the shoots he goes on very wisely for that exact reason - very relaxed and informal ones ;)